About Ballykisteen

The Ballykisteen Championship Golf course is a superb 18 hole, 72 par, Des Smyth designed championship golf course which was opened in 1993 and was formerly the famous Ballykisteen Stud.

Nestled in the heart of the Golden Vale

The clever design and suitability to all handicaps makes this golf hotel and Ballykisteen golf course an ideal venue for any golf outing. The golf course is set only minutes from Limerick Junction, County Tipperary in tree-sculptured surroundings against a backdrop of the Galtee Mountains. The golf course is constructed to the highest of standards distinguished by the superb quality of the putting surfaces. Smyth laid out each hole using the natural contours of the land where possible and incorporated an abundance of bunkers and water hazards which feature on 11 holes. Symth himself puts forward the 6th as one of the signature holes at Ballykisteen "probably the most difficult in the country; 230 yards from the back elevated tee to a green surrounded by water on three sides and out of bounds on the left, nothing but a perfect golf shot will do".


Upcoming Events

On Weekend of July 21st and 22nd we hold our next Monthly Medal kindly sponsored by Great National Hotels.

On the following weekend on Saturday 28th we hold the annual GVM Trophy kindly sponsored by Tom Crosse GVM

Captains Prize

Last weekend July 6th and 7th Frankie Nolan hosted his Captains Prize to a great turnout. Members, Seniors, Juniors and Ladies all played over the 2 days and it ended with the usual 9 hole playoff on Saturday evening. The playoff turned out to be very exciting with Tom Ryan winning by a half shot with a superb long range putt from off the green to 1 foot of the hole. Presentation, food and music followed afterwards in the BallyK bar. Winners were as follows.

Junior Matthew Kavanagh
Senior Neil O Malley
Visitor Gerry McCormack
Ladies Majella Hallinan
Best Playoff 9 Pat Ryan
Lead Qualifier John P Ryan
Past Captain Michael Greensmyth
Best Gross Olly Hodges
3rd PJ McLoughlin
2nd Gerry Doherty
Winner Tom Ryan