About Ballykisteen

The Ballykisteen Championship Golf course is a superb 18 hole, 72 par, Des Smyth designed championship golf course which was opened in 1993 and was formerly the famous Ballykisteen Stud.

Nestled in the heart of the Golden Vale

The clever design and suitability to all handicaps makes this golf hotel and Ballykisteen golf course an ideal venue for any golf outing. The golf course is set only minutes from Limerick Junction, County Tipperary in tree-sculptured surroundings against a backdrop of the Galtee Mountains. The golf course is constructed to the highest of standards distinguished by the superb quality of the putting surfaces. Smyth laid out each hole using the natural contours of the land where possible and incorporated an abundance of bunkers and water hazards which feature on 11 holes. Symth himself puts forward the 6th as one of the signature holes at Ballykisteen "probably the most difficult in the country; 230 yards from the back elevated tee to a green surrounded by water on three sides and out of bounds on the left, nothing but a perfect golf shot will do".


Representative Teams

Congratulations to the Barton Shield team who beat Tipperary on Saturday morning July 2nd and Mitchelstown on Saturday evening to get to the last four and lost out to Dungarvan on Sunday morning. Tramore won against Dungarvan on Sunday evening.
The Ballykisteen team;
Joe Hanley, Arthur Pierse Jnr, John Moran, Ben Downey, team manager Alan Dunphy.

Ballykisteen played Spanish Point in the Jimmy Bruen Munster semi-final in Douglas, Cork on July 17th and lost narrowly 3/2 on the 19th hole in the final match in play.

Captain's Day 2016

Arthur Ryan's Captains Prize took place on Sat 23rd July. Congratulations to Arthur on a great day with a big turnout. 12 players made the 9 hole playoff on Sat evening and the results are as follows;

1st Kevin O'Hora 100,
2nd Ray Kelly 102.5,
3rd Bertie Quirke 103
Category 1 Liam Downey 69,
Category 2 Alan Dunphy 67,
Gross Prize John A. Moran 74,
Playoff 9 holes Matthew Heffernan 36,
Past captains prize Tony Brown 74,
Visitor Mick Lambe 68,
Guest Prize Davy Burke,
Ladies Prize Catherine Murphy
Category 1 Junior Prize J.J. Bennett,
Category 2 Junior Prize Donnocha Cleary